Project minded


You may have surmised by now that Sweet Husband and I are very project oriented. When spring sprung we determined that we didn’t have any projects on the board so we set about starting a list. I even went so far as to put it on an excel spreadsheet. The columns were titled as follows:
no cost-minimal cost-moderate cost and YOUCH!
Let me briefly go over what we have done since we could start going outside to work. Do keep in mind this place isn’t a rathole, but there are things we wanted to change, and change we have. In no particular order, we rebuilt the steps to the garden shed and we’ve painted the outside of the house, hope you like the color. Last weekend,while Sweet Husband was insulating the duct work under the house, I took out a VERY large rhododrendon. That is HARD HARD work, which one you say? BOTH. This weekend we took out the old aluminum windows in the west wing and we put in shiny new thermal pane ones. Of course it’s not just the windows that need done. We had to remove the old paneling,take out the old insulation that may have had an R factor of 1 if we are lucky. Sweet Husband redid the electrical boxes and locations. It’s a wonder he could get it done, with my constant barrage of ” the power’s off right?” I have to remind him I prefer him alive. I learned how to put up insulation and now it’s so quiet and will be so cozy in the winter. mmm warmth! Now we will sheetrock,mud, sand and eventually paint. I of course will want to move furniture so this is the time to do it. We took out a fence, rebuilt a fence, built a lovely bench with the remains of the gone fence. Lemme see, we’ve planted a garden, tended the garden and now we harvest. Sweet step daughter painted her room, and works on various other projects at her mom’s house. I guess what I’m trying to say is we stay plenty busy learning new things and stretching our carpentry/electrical/plumbing/gardening skills. We are building for our future paradise in the present paradise we reside. Each day I thank my sweet husband for being such a great fun person to have projects with, I like being active that way.

6 thoughts on “Project minded

  1. Are you for hire? I have to pull out some bushes, among other things (like get the lawn mowed!). I’m such a homeowner slacker. But you? You two should have your own tv show!

  2. So next is up right? Gonna improve the view. Don’t wait for the neighbors to cut the monster trees. Remember sliding down a bannister is all that it is cracked up to be.

  3. Wow. You should be quite proud of yourself! Know what I’ve done this summer? Hired a gardener to start mowing the lawn, cause I couldn’t do it regularly enough to keep it looking nice – then I fired the gardener, cause I’m too cheap to pay for someone to mow my lawn, then I cleaned off the back patio, then I . . . oh, yeah, that’s right. All I’ve done this summer is clean off the back patio. (I like being lazy this way.) đŸ™‚

    You have no idea how much I envy your energy and home-repairing skills!

  4. We now feel like lazy, good-for-nothings (we meaning me as my job jar has more dust than is considered healthy).

    Thank you!!

    Seriously, congrats on all the projects!

  5. Sounds like my kind of summer, if I actually got of my butt and did something. If you don’t mind, I’ll just live my projects vicariously through you!

Leave a Reply

