As promised: the weirdness that is in my neighborhood

We moved into this neighborhood in the fall of 2002 and one day in October of that year Sweet Husband and I were driving around in our neighborhood and we came across this yard, dotted with dolls and ghouls. We both thought it is was kind of creepy, yet clever, in a creepy sort of way. I don’t recall people decorating their homes for Halloween in an elaborate way, until a few years ago, maybe I missed school that day. But we usually do the jack-o-lanterns, expect for this year, time slipped away from us,what with traveling, healing and vacations now past. But next year, just you wait. So tonight we drove around ‘the hood’ and did the tour of Halloween homes. This one house has lights and cemeteries, ghosts in trees and jack-o-lanterns all over the place. It’s like Candy Cane Lane meets Friday the 13th. We wanted to go tonight, as tomorrow night we will be busy dishing out the treats to the kiddies.

When I lived in Ohio, a few people would hang ghosts (I don’t think they were real) in their trees and call it good. But folks around here decorate their homes for Easter too. Remember Jr Achiever,
this is his house. Yup, that looks like a cemetery fence to me.

5 thoughts on “As promised: the weirdness that is in my neighborhood

  1. Personally? I would go knock on the people’s door with the herd of dolls. Kind of check them out a little.
    We have a couple dressed up houses here in hooterville, if I had a camera….oh well. There is always next year.
    booooooooooooooooooo

  2. I think that it is happening all over the country, some places more than others. I would say it is a new tradition. I like new traditions, especially ones as colorful as this one.

  3. I wish I had thought of the doll herd. It’s hilarious. And creepy. There’s nothing that good in my neighborhood.

  4. I wish i had some creepy halloween decorations. Mine favor more the Better Homes & Gardens or Martha Stewart variety. 🙂

    I like this new tradition of decorating like crazy for Halloween. All except the fake cobwebs. They are so hard to get rid of!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

