Is it just me?

Is there a full moon that I am not aware of? Have the planets misaligned and things are out of whack? OR, did someone pee on my Wheaties, while I was buttering my toast? Suffice it to say, this has not been a fun week, and it’s only Wednesday. I really can’t pin point why, but I have been one cranky chicky. As luck would have it none of this is directed at Sweet Husband. He is my sounding board and my voice of reason. If it weren’t for him, I’d probably be a blubbering idiot sitting on the side of the road somewhere waiting for a smelly Greyhound bus to take me to the furthest reaches of Canada. Instead I share the joy with you and the rest of the internets.

I have some great friends and we have this ongoing discussion about happiness and our jobs. I maintain that it’s not too much to ask to be happy at our jobs. How do the rest of you feel, are our jobs the end all to end all? For me, I don’t think so. This is just what I do, it’s not who I am. I suppose if I were a professional artist or singer or garment maker, then we might be having another discussion. But, I’m not! IN the mean time Sweet Husband and I keep plugging away, searching for that perfect property for our bed and breakfast. Now that sounds like fun AND hard work. As usual, I’ll keep you posted.

8 thoughts on “Is it just me?

  1. I am not my job. In fact I did not go to school for 3 years to end up counting $$, but then I don’t want to be what I went to school for. I am however more comfortable in my skin because of where I am. So hang in there and all of your many dreams will come true……

  2. I gave up on expecting that my job would fulfill me years ago. Now I’m simply marching to the day my daughter graduates from HS (7.5 years but who’s counting) so my wife and I can move on and start our own business – much like you and your B&B. So yeah, like Gale said… HANG IN THERE! Your day is just around the corner.

  3. I actually like my job. I’ve wanted to do this type of stuff since I was a kid, went to art school for it.

    I love selling used cars!

    Just kidding.

  4. I hate my job. Detest it. Abhor it. So I’m looking at different avenues to do something on my own.

    No boss except for me.

    That would be glorious.

    I’m with Dennis -where did you find the Jesus? ‘Cause that’s where I want to shop.

  5. I too am feeling restless even though I JUST got back from a year in outer Alaska. Everything here is very familiar and I think I need a challenge and God, if you are listening, please ignore me. Thank you.

  6. Going to try this again, the 1st time didn’t seem to work… hey quit laughing, I am not seasoned at posting blog comments. I lurk here a lot, catch up on what the family is doing by blog hopping. I love it… Like reading someones diary!

    Reading your post I was thinking, “hope it isn’t something I said”, like June was a good month for a party, that made you crankier 😉

    Seriously wouldn’t it totally suck if our jobs defined us. I feel so lucky to be doing something I love to do, that makes me feel good, but I have had some in the past I couldn’t say that about. Regardless every job every person does is important. It just doesn’t define them at all in my opinion. Even waiting tables I felt making sure people enjoyed their night out was important, but if I had thought it defined me I would have, well, gone past cranky to…. 😉

  7. Gale, H Man, I am hanging in there. Usually I don’t get so stressed out, but this week is over now. YEAH

    Dennis- it will be a couple years, but I will keep everyone posted via the blog.
    I think I was doing google searchs on images of Jesus and this lovely one popped up, you are more than welcom to use it.

    Creative type dad, glad you love your job, I’ve been there before and will again.

    Donut girl-you have to love your job now! Right?

    Royce a challenge is a good thing, there’s always the rodeo

    Jody-nope nothing you said, June is perfectly fine, we just have to keep in mind summer doesn’t start until July 5th. 🙂

Leave a Reply

