Random Bits

I am finding myself busier and busier lately. Aren’t you? Because I work from home 99% of the time I was in need of a more ‘organized’ work area. Now I’m sorta weird when it comes to how my desk is set up. I can’t face a wall…don’t even try I may end up socking you in the nose.

Once upon a time when I was assigned a cube when I worked in an actual ‘work building’ my computer was set up facing a corner. Me no likee! I forced my computer onto a skinny side table so I could at least look up to the right of me. I want to look up and greet the person coming into chat, request or yell at me. I haven’t a thing in the world to hide when I work, I just don’t like it when someone walks up behind me. I am one of those perfect employees that does not receive or send personal email while at work, so there’s nothing to hide there. I don’t play games on my computer at work and I have a strict schedule that I adhere to. I am also one of those perfect employees that does not take or receive personal phone calls on my cell phone. I now have a Blackberry so I can get emails from work in the middle of the night, but I auto shut off at 7pm, so I can shut off too. Besides I can literally go days without an email at home, which is a refreshing change to the hundred or so that I receive daily at work. So if you’ve sent me a recent email at home that I haven’t responded to, um I’m sorry.

Anyhoo, so today we rearranged the ‘west wing’ where my office is and now I have more room. I’m more organized and it looks like a real office, except for the treadmill, the Xbox 360, the two recliners and the TV, all sharing the same room. But the fax….that makes it an office.

…more Random Bits,

For those of you who might be interested, because you may have tried to help fix it in the past….we now have the water and ice portion of our refrigerator fixed. May I take this opportunity to point out, that again I am in the wrong business. The dude was here less than 20 minutes, replaced a part and was out the door with a check for $168. Perhaps now he can afford that hair cut he so obviously needed.

Even more Random bits…

On Saturday we did something that has taken us 30 years to do. We went to our Democratic caucus. I feel very strongly that there must be something done in the way of change with the current administration. There are so many wrongs that need to be righted and for me the biggest is to uphold the oath of office:

“I do solemnly swear that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

Our constituation is in jeopardy and only ‘WE’ can stop the hijacking. The experience of going to the caucus was like no other that I’ve had. Sweet Husband and I walked over to the elementary school to join up with 700 of our closest neighbors. The high caucus count was mirrored across the state of Washington, which is pretty awesome. It makes me very hopeful for the first time in almost 8 years, because so many people are getting involved. The couple across the street was there, the couple that share a fence to the south of us were there, our friend Bob and our other friend Marcia, we were all there. The cool thing? None of us knew the other’s political affiliation, but we do now. I had sorta whined to Sweet Husband that I wanted to go, but he didn’t have to if he didn’t want to, but he attended as well. I wanted to see first hand what all the fuss was about and help direct a change, if I could. After all it really did matter what I had to say and who I am committed in voting for.

Because there were so many people there and the majority of us were unfamiliar with the procedures it seemed sort of chaotic at first. But votes were taken, thoughts were shared and delegates picked from the very civic minded group of people. We were a cross section of our country, right there behind the curtains on the elementary performance stage. No one was left out, all flavors of life were represented and I am glad that we went.

So I leave you with this…If we don’t have hope for something, then we don’t have progress toward that hope. There is a light at the end of the tunnel and this time it’s not a train.

6 thoughts on “Random Bits

  1. “I am not member of an organized political party, I am a Democrat.” I think this is attributed to Mark Twain but I’m not sure. I don’t know if you know or remember but I acively helped a friend campaign for office in Hooterville many years ago, my candidate lost but it was an interesting experience.

  2. You attended a caucus! That’s so exciting. I’m pumped for what’s happening in your political process right now and I’m not even American. Go Democrats!

  3. Caucus? Never occured to me to go. Never knew I could. I am however looking for the NPR poll/survey that asks questions on what you believe and at the end it pretty much matches you up with a candidate. I wanna take that poll. Why waste your time following someone who doesn’t agree with you.

  4. The caucus system is very interesting and puts you in the middle of history as all candidates were chosen using this method. I think getting a group of people in a room to plea for there candidate would be a lot fun and much for satisfying than worrying about a hanging chad.

Leave a Reply

