Gratitude

Let me begin by saying that I am very fortunate to have gone on this great trip to South America. I earned it fair and square by increasing my sales numbers. There were a total of 30 of us on this trip and we all earned our spots. With any luck and skill I will be on the another trip like it next year. Now, who needs some cheese?

We did a lot of cool things while on this trip and we were taken care of very well. We handled our luggage twice, dropping off and pickup at the airport. It was always a step ahead of us and waiting for us when we needed it. Excellent.

Our transportation was always arranged for us too. Now I’d like to point out the traffic in Buenos Aries is exciting. The don’t really have rules for drivings, as much as they have guidelines which are only followed loosely as well. The drivers are all compatible and it seems to work, I saw no accidents but did hear lots of honking.

On the day that we were to go to Florida Street for shopping, it turned out to be the same day that 600000 people were expected to come into the city for protests regarding the farmers strike. Cool. We made our way to the Plaza de Mayo where the president was to speak that night. We were early in the day but people were starting to assemble already. Argentina had gone through a horrific economic crisis in 2002 where their whole economy collapsed. They are having rebounds but it has been a hard fight to strive toward middle ground. The gap is wide between poverty and wealth. Many of the stores are very high end, but you seeing the beggars right outside the door. It’s really no different than any other large city. We did feel that we were watching a part of their political history unfold. That evening we listened to the speech on the television but could only pick out a few words, but the passion of the situation was very clear.

One mode of transportation that we opted for was a bicycle tour of Buenos Aries. BA is a mostly flat city and I was ok with that. We were told that it was on a trail and wouldn’t be in traffic. I think a busy road and 8 lane thorough fare is called a trail in BA because that’s what we were on. But yet again we lucked out, it was a National Holiday in Argentina, they were celebrating the end of the Malvinas war, to you and me the Falkland War. The Argentine refuse to call these group of Island anything other than the Malvinas, it’s a pride thing, those damn Brits with their conquering ways. Anyhoo, as it was a national holiday with very little traffic, at least for a while.

Our guide took us on a about a 2.5 hour tour pointing out sights and statues and stopping at parks. Except for the few missed stop lights where the group was divided and that one ‘almost’ mishap with the two buses we had a great time.

For easiblity on our bike tour we took our small digital camera. It was easy to point and shoot and wasn’t as heavy as the SLR with lenses. Besides it still gets great shots. Sweet Husband was in charge of the photos so you see alot of me and only a few of him. You do see our obligatory and now traditional long arm shot, but really no pics of us together. I was really happy to have these pictures and add them to our collection.

On our last day in South America and on our trip across the Rio de la Plata and then on to the airport I was looking at the photos on the small camera. I had also taken a brief video of our guide with this camera. Our guide was so cute and she had the best accent so I wanted to capture that moment. I was going to review the video when something went horribly wrong. On the times I have the realization that I may have made a huge embarrassing mistake, my whole body goes flush with heat. I feel nauseous and I get sort of light headed. As I was fiddling with the camera, all of a sudden I feel very very hot. I slide the button on the camera from looking at photos to shooting photos and back to looking at the photos. The screen reads, “no images”. Excuse me? I tried again, same message. I looked up at Sweet Husband and said, “I think I deleted all the photos”. Much to his credit without saying anything accusatory he checked and made sure, yep they were gone. The only thing he said much later on was “better you than me”. I was sick, I looked around for something to throw up in. I wanted the boat to turn around so we could have a do over. I was so close to crying. That bike excursion had been one of my favorites things we did and I lost those photos. I thought there were some other photos on this camera but he reminded me that we had the bigger camera that day so I was consoled with only losing one small bit of our trip. Yes other people had cameras so I could get photos from them.

As I thought about it for a while (about 14 hours of flight time) I figured other people had had this problem. Once we got home and I had a bit of sleep I used the google to search for how to recover accidentally lost images on a memory chip. Well as you can see from the evidence of the photos posted I did it. It only took downloading some groovy software and purchasing a chip reader and VIOLA’ lost photos reclaimed. I am truly a lucky person, guess I better go get that lottery ticket. And yes please enjoy these photos, you don’t know how lucky you are.

3 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. I would have turned to begging pictures from my fellow travelers. Never would it have occured to me try to undelete….but thats how the bad guys get caught now isn’t? Nothing is EVER deleted, so careful whatcha do, Hey?

  2. Thank goodness for digital cameras! I dropped our regular camera in the ocean on our Jamiacian honeymoon and lost three days of pictures. We had to buy disposable cameras so we had some record of this once in a lifetime trip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

