It’s what’s for dinner.

I have come to the sad conclusion that in spite of working in the food industry I am pathetic when it comes to making dinner. Sweet Husband and I don’t take turns when it’s time to cook, it just happens that when the one doesn’t feel like cooking the other one does….it works for us.  More often than not, we are both in the kitchen working together, that too works for us.  Sweet Husband is very elaborate and will shop for specific ingredients and create a mouth watering meal that is almost always top notch.  Grilled chicken with Thai Peanut Sauce is one of his specialties and now one of my favorites.  Grilled chicken on a bed of sticky rice, layered with slightly steamed spinach, topped with Thai Peanut Sauce.  I generally can’t get enough of this meal, it’s a lovely combination of rich spicy green tastes.

I’ve just gotten lazy when it comes to cooking.  When I know that Sweet Husband has had a hard day I’ll choose from “Carla’s Two Syllable Dinners”, recipes sure to win over even the pickiest of eaters…or not!

  • Tacos
  • Chicken
  • Caesar Salad (two syllables each word)
  • Popcorn
  • Pancakes
  • Sandwich
  • Salmon
  • Burger
  • Fondue
  • Nachos
  • Water

I’ve grown weary of food, at least for the time being.  Most of the time we eat out of habit, because it’s that time of day.  Generally we’ve run low on fuel and it’s time to replenish.   I go through phases when that’s all I can think of is food, so be on the lookout for more tasty blogs post, but right now, not so much.

I do have to point out that regardless of who is cooking, the ingredients are always fresh.  We never even go down the frozen isle in the grocery store. That’s a good thing too as most our freezer space is taken up with samples for my work.  As for canned food, we have some  tomato sauce, or beans, but nothing major.  You won’t see Hamburger Helper at our house or Hot Pockets either, it just won’t happen.

7 thoughts on “It’s what’s for dinner.

  1. i want to be buried in peanut sauce… it is my favorite flavor… may have to get that recipe.

    like you, i can cook, it’s just rare that i am compelled to do a ‘full kitchen trash’ maneuver…

  2. When My kids were little, Hamburger Helper was a staple, along with mac and cheese and hotdogs, and Cream of Wheat (or some such thing). Sometimes, that was all I could afford. Their father was not any help with family life. Thank God for WIC and food stamps, or we would not have survived. Even the classes I had to take on nutrition were appreciated. Not a fond time memory for me. But the kids made it through, and none the worse for it. After they came to live with Richard and Me, meals were more normal. Heather learned to cook a lot things from Richard as I was driving bus trips for extra money. Robby was a lost cause for cooking lessons. He has a Mr. Macho attitude toward women. Don’t know where that came from. Lisa, don’t know if she is a good cook or not. Never had the chance to find out.But will soon I hope.

  3. You may wish to branch out to um, chemical cooking?
    Become a chemist in the kitchen, learn hot to make fake fish eggs out of stuff and the use of Liquid Nitrogen. Oooh!

    R

  4. There is a show on the PLG network. It stars chefs who work with gastronomic chemistry. The show I watched featured a chemical that fools your tonge into tasting wonderfulness when eating weeds.
    Fer true, they made stuff out of marigolds, and some other kinds of non poisonous weeds, served everyone a spoonful of the pink chemical and then the customers ate a very tastefully decorated itsy bitsy portion of the weeds. They raved, they slurped, they burped daintily but didn’t ask for more, please.

  5. I love peanut sauce. At first I thought it was weird because at Lulu’s they have a Thai pizza that has peanut sauce. I thought it was weird to put peanut anything on pizza. I tried it and it was yummy.

  6. Daisyfae- Peanut sauce is indeed natures candy. The shameful thing…I thought I was a good cook, until I met him.

    Cathy- the unfortunate thing we haven’t learned in this goofy world is most of food that is bad for us is the cheapest.

    Royce, so glad you clarified the ‘chemical’ comment, I was lost. But really how good is that chemical for us?

    Jen I am so glad not to be allergic to peanuts. From the first time Mitch made thai peanut sauce I fell in love with him all over again…yeah I know, that’s sappy. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Sunday morning ramblin girl « Blah blah blog-o-licious

Leave a Reply

