Veien å gå deg stor ost

                                                       

Way back in the olden days when I was visiting Norway I learned a phrase that I thought was very complimentary and I would use it every chance I got.  Until one day some one asked me why I was calling a very respectable gentleman, “the big cheese’?  “Um, because that’s what they taught me to say as a greeting” I said, as I swung around pointing my finger at a group of giggling teenagers.  They got me, I had been greeting each and every one I met, with: “How ya doin, ya big cheese?” in my weak Norwegian. What I thought I was saying was, “Hello, it’s very nice to meet you”.  More often than not,  I would get a hearty hello and a big grin in return. Dur, now I knew why all the bigs grins.

Being in Norway, was perhaps my first run in with foreign cheese, even if it was only in the form of a word.  Growing up in Idaho the most exotic cheese we had in the house was sharp cheddar, or the parm that came in a green can.  But then again a salad was a wedge of iceberg lettuce and a knife. As I grew up and moved away from home,  I worked several Christmas’s at Hickory Farms while in college and learned more about cheese when I became a full time employee with a store of my own.  And yes I was a sample girl. That’s a whole other blog post.

I’ve morphed my way through many jobs involving food and most specifically the grocery industry.   For the last several years I’ve worked as a food broker.  We are the people that set up grocery stores.  What? You thought that just happened overnight by a group of fairies?  I wish I could bring you all along so you could experience the process of outfitting a new store, but then with all those people standing around you would be put to work stocking beans or sweeping floors.  And yes, we are also the people that mess up the grocery aisles and move your favorite peanut butter so you can’t find it. It’s generally not vindictive when things are moved, there is some logic involved.  Somewhere.  Really.  I’m sure of it. And yes we are those people that tease you with things to eat while you shop as you try to contain your children in the cart after a hard days work.  That’s me and about 125000 jillion other people.

So I come by my exposure to cheese honestly.  In fact I was compelled to share some of my bounty with a fellow blogger yesterday.  Kathy at the Junk Drawer  was cleaning out her fridge the other day and found four jars of Parmesan cheese and posted a picture of her findings.  I knew the instant I saw her photo that I had to take a picture of the cheese in my drawer and email it to her.  I wasn’t bragging, I simply had a surplus.  But I took it a step further.  I loaded up a bunch of goodies, surrounded them with ice packs and sent them off to her. I get lots of samples, samples that can’t be sold, but are shown to buyers or used in food shows or simply for tasting and there is always a bit left over.   Is it any wonder that I’m known as the “Cheese lady” in our neighborhood?  So why shouldn’t I be the cheese lady to an unsuspecting person every once in a while?  After all, half the fun of a surprise is how much the recipient likes it.  I wish I could do it for everyone, but I guess that’s why we have grocery stores isn’t it?

 

 

Cheese from my Fridge

Cheese from my Fridge

22 thoughts on “Veien å gå deg stor ost

  1. Pingback: The Junk Drawer » Losing Never Tasted So Gouda

  2. Carla, thank you again for my cheese bounty! I love, too, that I don’t have to cook anything to enjoy it. Just spread it on crusty bread or cracker, and I’m golden! Is it bad if I spread cheese on a block of cheese? Loved your language misinterpretation. I’m sure everyone loved knowing you appreciated their big cheesedness.

    Off to my non-food job soon. Boy, you really got it made!

  3. Carla, I’m grateful that Kathy lost the challenge, because that means I get to taste the samples, what with being her sister and living only 15 minutes away!

    Until then, I have to settle for Cheese Nips….

  4. ”How ya doin, ya big cheese?” 😀 Too funny! Sounds like you do have a great job!

    PS I’m not amused that you moved my favorite Granola Bars… I still haven’t located them 🙂

  5. You are so generous! I adore cheese too and when I saw the bevy of beauties you sent to Kathy, I just drooled.

    I thought you might be interested in this poem of mine about our friend Joe and his cheese shop. We don’t get round there enough to sample his wares, but it is an amazing experience.

    http://hyggedigter.blogspot.com/2007/09/cheese-please.html

    I loved Jarlsberg as a kid (usually in a sandwich with sliced beets)! These days I prefer my cheese with a little more tang (or smoked).

    I am adding you to my list of blogs to follow as of now.

    Kat

  6. Sherry, Havarti is one of my favorites as well, in fact dill havarti on rye breat with thinly sliced roast beef, nummers.

    Kathy, you are awesome, cheese on a block of cheese, sounds divine.

    Babs, arteries, indeed. My Dr, says I will never suffer with a cholesterol level of 78, lucky me.

    Phil, try domestic havarti, it’s still awesome and less expensive, but cheddars good too. But you knew that.

    Thanks Kat, Jarlsberg is one of my lines I broker. Did you know that in Norway you can get smoked Jarlsberg. That sounds so good. Thanks for sticking around, I’ll try to be interesting. 🙂

    Jennifer, products really only move themselves, yeah, when monkeys fly out of my butt.

  7. Royce, brie, I LOVE brie, it has my respect.

    mizmell, some peoples memories are another persons nightmares. Not really I actually liked working for H Farms.

    McKee Boursin is truly awesome, the only cheese I really have to limit for myself.

    Bella, yes asiago is so good too, there are so many to choose from.

  8. I was at my favorite store today (not to name names but they sell the Big K brand of soft drinks) and they were sampling Jarlsberg with mayo and red onion. It was great!!! I could not convince my wife to buy some though. I think I will go there tonite and get some without telling her.

    Oh and I got her from The Junk Drawer.

  9. I LOVE cheese! I anyone ever told me I couldn’t eat cheese because if I did I would die, I would happily gorge myself into a cheese coffin. I think you should send me some cheese Cheese Lady. I would eat it with tons of love and enthusiasm. I may not get excited over politics but I sure can get excited about cheese!

  10. Hi Carla,
    Just wanted to say thank you so much for sharing your cheese with Kathy – I was a lucky recipient of some of her treasures. I LOVE the Boursin – I hope I can find it around here. It’s 3 different flavors, but is so creamy and tasty, it’s like having dessert.

  11. Do I smell…..cheese heaven? In home-ec at school (a century ago) the teacher planned to teach us the finer points of cheese. We started out with each girl getting a nice chunk of bleu cheese…..and four of us fought to the death for the water cooler.

    Then my mom continued the lesson at home: VELVEETA. I’m one of those disadvantaged individuals, hoping there’s a mid point between dying of bleu cheese chunks and trying to swallow molten orange goo.

  12. Jarllsberg is OK but can’t beat an aged Vasterbotten (from northern Sweden).
    Limburger is fantastic – will eat the bread before you spread it on if you don’t eat it fast enough. A real treat. And Parmesan cheese? There is only one kind.
    Carlae, you should import some Parmeggio Reggiane and let people find out what real Parmesan tastes like, especially if you dip it in creamy balsamic vinegar from Tuscany…

  13. Like I told Kathy at the Junk Drawer my family also loves cheese. Actually, my favorite is Queso Oaxaca; I’d be very surprised if you’ve heard of it. It is from the Mexican state of Oaxaca and is soft and stringy, having a very light yellow hue and the texture of more mature mozzarella (in between the super soft baby and the blocks you find at the store) with a bit of a bite. It is great to make quesadillas. It is occasionally available at latin food stores, but it’s nothing like getting it fresh from the little old ladies in Oaxaca that culture the cheese. Anyone for a trip to Mexico?

    How did you get such a neat job (where you get free yummy food samples)? How come you aren’t in my neighborhood :(?

  14. Nice post about Veien a ga deg stor ost « Blah blah blog-o-licious. I am very impressed with the time and effort you have put into writing this story. I will give you a link on my social media blog. All the best!

Leave a comment